Call for scores: International composition competition in the United States

Founded in 1973, the Garth Newel Music Center is one of the country’s most active chamber music organizations. Its resident ensemble – the Garth Newel Piano Quartet – gives more than 60 concerts a year, both at the center and on tour. Through this competition, the quartet wishes to expand the piano quartet’s repertoire and support the centre’s continued commitment to contemporary music.

The winners will receive:

  • The Glovie and Dick Lynn Prize for New Music ($ 3,000).
  • An interpretation of the award-winning work by the Garth Newel Piano Quartet at the 2022 Summer Music Festival.
  • Travel allowance to work with the Garth Newel Piano Quartet and to attend the premiere in Hot Springs, Virginia.
  • Frequent performances and high-quality video recording of the winning work of the Garth Newel Piano Quartet.
  • The opportunity to participate in a short-term residency in conjunction with the first. This residency will take place as part of Garth Newel’s prestigious Emerging Artist Fellowship chamber music program.
  • The winner will have the opportunity to work in close collaboration with the Garth Newel Piano Quartet and the Emerging Artist Fellows, with the possibility of readings and interpretations of the composer’s other chamber works.
  • Collaborate and network with talented musicians from top music schools.


  • Works submitted must be for violin, viola, cello and piano. Piano trios and quintets are not accepted.
  • There is no time limit for the work.
  • Submissions from any composer, regardless of age or nationality, are welcome.
  • The work is to be originally conceived as a piano quartet. Arrangements of previously completed works that have been performed or published are not acceptable

Compositions are not eligible if:

  • They require live electronics or cannot be performed with simple stereo playback.
  • The work has already received a professional premiere (a student performance within the school community is allowed).
  • It is a transcription or arrangement of another performed or published work.
  • They have already been professionally recorded for commercial CD release.
  • The work, regardless of the instrumentation, has been published.

Each composer must submit:

  • Readable sheet music and professional quality pieces labeled with a pseudonym. No mark identifying the composer must appear on the score. The title of the work is authorized.
  • An envelope labeled with the composer’s pseudonym. The information in the envelope should include the composer’s name, address, phone number, email address, and paragraph biography.
  • A digital recording of the work labeled with the composer’s pseudonym (CDs or USB sticks are acceptable). MIDI implementations are acceptable.
  • An envelope stamped with your address and of the appropriate size if the composer wishes his material to be returned.

All documents should be sent to:

Composers competition
Garth Newel Music Center
403 Garth Newel Way
Hot Springs, Virginia 24445

For electronic submission:

  • Email the score, instrumental parts and audio file under a pseudonym to [email protected] as well as the composer’s information in a PDF / Word document titled “Do not open until results are determined”.
  • Recordings that are too large can be sent via Dropbox or Google Drive. Composers should label the titles of digital tracks with the name of the composition as well as the composer’s pseudonym.

All material must be received before November, 1st and applicants will be informed of the results by email no later than January 31, 2022.

E-mail [email protected] for more information or questions.

Show original call here.

Comments are closed.