Chris Robinson and Howlin Rain release their studio debut

Today, Chris Robinson of The Black Crowes and American rock band Howlin Rain shared their studio debut via Ethan Miller’s Silver Current Records. The recordings come on limited-edition 7-inch vinyl and feature two Mott the Hoople covers: “Sucker” and “Death May Be Your Santa Claus.”

The tracks feature Robinson on lead vocals, Miller on guitar and backing vocals, Dan Cervantes on guitar, Blake Dean on bass, Justin Smith on drums and Camille Johnson on backing vocals.

“In 2019, Chris Robinson came to sit with Howlin Rain in San Francisco during our performance at The Chapel. We played ‘Sucker’ by Mott The Hoople and it was awesome,” Miller recalled in a press release. “When the pandemic hit the following year, sit-ins and live gigs were a thing of the past for a while and we turned to the studio for those kind of kinship and collaborative efforts. CR picked up another of his favorite Mott songs and we were off to the races.

Recordings were made at Palomino Sound in Los Angeles by Jason Soda with overdubs followed at The Mansion in San Francisco by Eric Bauer and Studio In The Clouds in Telluride, Colorado by Brett Neuman. They were mixed and mastered at Louder Studios by Tim Green, and the cover art was designed by Nik Gernert.

The release includes blacklight screen prints, and a small handful of signed press tests will hit stores for Record Store Day on April 23, as well as digital formats.

Learn more about Record Store Day here.

Exclusive editions are on sale now. Listen and buy the recordings here.

Comments are closed.