Mayhem shares chaotic new song “Everlasting Dying Flame”

Mayhem shares chaotic new song

Norwegian black metal band Mayhem have released the new single “Everlasting Dying Flame” with a supporting music video, according to The PRP. The song was released from their EP Atavistic black disorder / Kommando which was released yesterday, July 9, with Century Media.

“Everlasting Dying Flame” begins strongly with a series of fierce and repetitive electric guitar chord progressions, as well as a consistent and reliable percussion rhythm that forms the structure of the song. The instrumental is joined by guttural and angry screamo-type voices. The track is over five minutes long, maintaining consistent emotions and intention throughout.

The song is about death, especially in terms of our own mortality. It reflects the feeling of exhaling in our own body with its dark and gloomy message.

Atavistic black disorder / Kommando also features a number of unreleased tracks as well as covers of songs by artists such as Ramones, Dead Kennedys, Discharge and Rudimentary Peni. The two other original singles from the EP include the tracks “Voces Ab Alta” and “Black Glass Communion”.

Mayhem was scheduled to appear at the Roskilde Festival this month alongside artists such as Tyler, The Creator, and Thom Yorke’s Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes, although the festival was canceled due to pandemic restrictions.


Comments are closed.