Watch Red Hot Chili Peppers’ “Black Summer” Video From New Album

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced their 12th studio album, Unlimited love. The sequel to 2016 the getaway marks the band’s first new album with guitarist John Frusciante since 2006 Stadium Arcadium. It’s also their first with longtime producer Rick Rubin since 2011. Unlimited love arrives April 1.

“Our only goal is to lose ourselves in the music. We have spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, perfecting our craft and showing up for each other, to make the best album possible,” the band said in a statement about the LP. “Our antennas tuned into the divine cosmos, we were so grateful to have the opportunity to be in a room together and, once again, trying to improve ourselves. Days, weeks and months passed listening to each other, composing, jamming freely and arranging the fruit of these jams with great care and determination.The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies delighted us.

The group gives a taste of their new music with the first single LP, “Black Summer”. The Deborah Chow-directed video for the song captures the band’s Zen perspective, with the band members mostly performing separately in front of serene, surreal locations – a forest, an ice-tipped ocean, outer space and a stage. upside down desert. The clip culminates with the Chili Peppers meeting on a stage flanked by several setting suns.

“It’s been a long time since I made a new friend/Waiting for another black summer to end,” Anthony Kiedis sings on the chorus.

“We aspire to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect and bring people together. Each of the songs on our new album Unlimited love, is a facet of us, reflecting our view of the universe,” the group added. “It is our life’s mission. We work, focus and prepare so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean gave us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy. Unleash the motherfuckers!”

Frusciante explained the band’s process when eliminating the album. “When we got together to start writing, we started out playing old songs by people like Johnny ‘Guitar’ Watson, The Kinks, The New York Dolls, Richard Barrett and others,” he said. in a press release. “Gradually we started bringing in new ideas and turning the jams into songs, and after a few months we were just playing the new stuff. The feeling of effortless fun we had when playing other people’s songs stayed with us the entire time we wrote. For me, this record represents our love and our faith towards each other.

The group will hit the road this summer to support unlimited love, with its North American leg kicking off in Denver, Colorado on July 23 at Empower Field in Mile High. It ends at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas on September 18.

In a recent interview with rolling stone, drummer Chad Smith spoke of their upcoming trek – the band’s first US stadium tour – calling it “pretty scary”, but also exciting. We wrote some of our best songs with these four guys, and we have something special,” he said. “It will be really exciting, and I see us not taking it for granted at all. As you get a little older, you appreciate it more. It will be a real joyful thing.

Unlimited love Track list

1. “Black Summer”
2. “Here Forever”
3. “Water Mouth Dance”
4. “Not the only one”
5. “Poster Child”
6. “The Great Apes”
7. “It’s natural”
8. “She’s a lover”
9. “These are the means”
10. “What do you think”
11. “Bastards of Light”
12. “White Braids and Pillow Chair”
13. “One-Way Traffic”
14. “Veronica”
15. “Let Them Cry”
16. “The Heavy Wing”
17. “Tangelos”

Comments are closed.