Youngkin’s victory to change the composition of the electoral council | news / arlington

[Sun Gazette Newspapers provides content to, but otherwise is unaffiliated with, InsideNoVa or Rappahannock Media LLC.]

The Democratic Party’s eight-year grip on the governor’s residence is coming to an end, and with it the service of more than 100 Electoral Council members statewide.

In Arlington, that transition will take place at the end of next year.

Under state law, all of Virginia’s 130 or so electoral councils are made up of two members from the governor’s party, with the third member from the powerless party. Over the past eight years, that has meant two Democrats and one Republican on each electoral council.

But Glenn Youngkin’s election means changes are coming, with the next Democrat whose term expires on each electoral council being replaced by a GOP member. Nominations, usually several, are made by local political parties, with the final decision resting with the circuit court in each locality.

In Arlington, Electoral Board Chairman Matthew Weinstein will be the first of two Democrats whose term expires. On December 31, 2022, he will be replaced by a Republican who will join Vice President Kim Phillip (a Democrat) and Secretary Scott McGeary (a Republican) in the panel.

It will be the first party change on the electoral board since 2014, when Republican McGeary was replaced by Democrat David Bell after the Democrats won the governorship from the Republicans a year earlier.

(McGeary returned to the corps in 2016, succeeding fellow Republican Allen Harrison Jr., who retired after a 29-year term.)

In general, members of the Arlington Electoral Council have worked collegially over the years, with few partisan divisions – which is apparently not always the case across the Commonwealth.

Members of the electoral council serve three-year terms and, under state law, are paid a relatively small amount, although the secretary of each organ earns about double what other members earn due. more responsibilities.

Under state law, the chairman and secretary of any local electoral council must be from different parties.

Source link

Comments are closed.